top of page


City Services in this context refers to responsibilities that fall within the purview of the City of Dayton's governance, including but not limited to:

  • Public Library

  • Fire Department

  • Police Department
  • Mayor & City Council


Use slideshow window on right to scroll through photos.

Use page arrows at bottom to scroll through list of services. 

Click on image to left of each services for historical background. 

Public Library

The Dayton Public Library is located inside the Dayton Community Center at 801 South Cleveland Street. The hours are Mon-Thu 9:30am - 5:30pm; Fri-Sat 10:00am - 2;00pm; closed Sunday. In addition to traditional library services, Dayton's library has 18 public access computers and a computer laboratory of 10 computers as well as wi-fi availability. Citizens can support the local library by becoming members of the Friends of the Library group which raises funds and promotes community activities. 

Fire Department

The Dayton Fire Department is a volunteer force of 40 members who support residents within the 144 square miles that constitute Dayton. The fire department leaders are fire chief Murphy Green and assistant fire chief David Rodgers.  A new fire station was completed earlier in 2017.  

The first Dayton volunteer fire department was established in 1930 after numerous Depot Street structures downtown burned to the ground in 1929. The station was a lean-to building/shed located on Bryan Street. The first pumper truck was built by its members in the late 1930s and the first fire apparatus was a 1940 Ford Pumper custom built in Detroit, Michigan and driven all the way from Detroit to Dayton by volunteer firemen on rut filled dirt roads. 

Police Department

The Dayton Police Department is a force of 21 sworn officers and 15 civilian employees who support residents within the 144 square miles that constitute Dayton. The Dayton Police Chief is John Headrick.  The four divisions include the Criminal Investigation Division, Patrol Division, Support Services, and Animal Control. A new police station was completed earlier in 2017.  The former police station is being converted into a Police & Fire Museum.

Mayor & City Council

The current mayor of Dayton is Jeff Lambright who was a 1985 Dayton High School graduate born and raised in Dayton. He attends First Baptist Church of Dayton with his wife Kim and their 2 children John Luke and Haley. He contributes to Dayton's youth as a member and leader of the local Boy Scouts organization. He is supported by a City Council icomposed of Troy Barton, Sherial Lawson, Josh Townsend, and Alvin Burress as well as the Mayor Pro tem John Johnson. 

Please reload

bottom of page