top of page


In addition to the historical markers at the Dayton Old School (1900) and Jamison Log Cabin (1850s), there are six Texas Sate Historical Markers in Dayton:

  • 2 churches - 1st Baptist (1878), 1st Methodist (1855)

  • 2 cemeteries - Linney (1850s), French (1835)

  • 1 event - Runaway Scrape (1836)

  • 1 community - Stilson (1896)

The Dayton Historical Society was originally formed to manage the establishment of historical markers.


Use slideshow window on right to scroll through photos.

Use page arrows at bottom to scroll through list of markers. 

Click on image to left of each marker for more information. 

First Baptist Church of Dayton

Marker Location: 115 South Church St.

The first Baptist congregation in Dayton was formed in 1878, when ten worshipers gathered together to begin a church. A one-room schoolhouse, located on what is now East Cook Street, was used for worship services until 1895. The church's first pastor was the Rev. E. M. Forman, a circuit riding minister. Other traveling clergymen also pastored the small church in its early years, including D. W. Jackson, J. McArthur Black, J. A. Lee, J. F. McLeod, and J. M. Day.

In 1895 the Baptist congregation began conducting services in a Union Church on the southeast corner of Waring and North Main streets. In 1901, following damage to the Union Church in the hurricane of 1900, construction began on a baptist sanctuary near this site on South Church Street.

Throughout its history the First Baptist congregation has sought to serve its community. A Ladies Aid Society was organized in 1911, and the first of many local missions was established in 1912. A youth ministry also began in 1912. The church congregation has maintained an active involvement in both home and foreign missionary projects. 

First (United) Methodist Church of Dayton

Marker Location: 106 South Cleveland St., Dayton, Texas

Methodist worship services were conducted in West Liberty, later known as Dayton, as early as 1855. By 1900 the First Methodist Church had a full-time pastor, the Rev. G. T. Newberry, who conducted services in the Dayton schoolhouse on North Main Street.

In 1906 the congregation built its first sanctuary. A one-story wooden structure with a bell tower, which continued to serve the members until 1928. A church school also was organized in 1906, and Charles Wilson was elected to serve as the first superintendent.

A series of worship and education facilities were constructed to accommodate the growing congregation through the years, including a large two-story brick building with a basement on the northwest corner of Houston Avenue and Cleveland Street in 1928. Due to continued growth, the 1928 structure was razed in 1980, and the congregation built a new sanctuary in 1981.

After a denominational merger in 1968, the church's name was changed to first United Methodist Church. throughout the years the congregation has served the community with a variety of worship, educational, social, and missionary programs. 

1 / 1

Please reload

bottom of page